Menu

Workers’ Compensation Officer Forms

May 3rd, 2017

Hello Everyone!
I would like to provide an overview on workers’ compensation in the states of Georgia and South Carolina in reference to the officer forms. These forms are needed whether the officers are included or excluded.
During several occasions, the officer exclusion form is not obtained. If you are working with a corporation, officers are automatically included unless they elect to be excluded. If officers want to be excluded and carriers do not have the signed exclusion form, they will issue an endorsement including payroll for officers resulting in an additional premium. This obviously does not make the insured happy; so remember to always get these forms signed when binding work comp coverage.
I put together the following GA and SC rules on work comp that I think will be beneficial to our members.
Georgia:
LLC:
Statute: In Georgia, LLC members are covered under the Workers' Compensation law. Each member goes into his or her designated class between $46,800 min and $192,400 max for policies effective 3/1/2015 to 2/29/2016, and between $49,400 min and $197,600 max for policies effective 3/1/2016 and later.
Option: Up to 5 members may reject coverage.
Individual:
Statute: In Georgia, sole proprietors are not covered under the Workers’ Compensation law.
Option: Sole proprietors may elect to be covered. If included, add the owner into his designated class at $47,500 for policies effective 3/1/2015 to 2/29/2016, and at $48,800 for policies effective 3/1/2016 and later.
Partnership:
Statute: In Georgia partners are not covered under the Workers’ Compensation law.
Option: Active partners may elect to be covered. If included, add each partner into his designated class at $47,500 for policies effective 3/1/2015 to 2/29/2016, and at $48,800 for policies effective 3/1/2016 and later.

South Carolina:
LLC:
Statute: In South Carolina, LLC members are not covered under the Workers' Compensation law. Option: LLC members can elect coverage. If included, add each member in his designated class at $39,800 for policies effective 9/1/2015 to 8/31/16, and $40,800 for policies effective 9/1/16 and later.
Individual:
Statute: In South Carolina, sole proprietors are not covered under the Workers’ Compensation law. Option: Actively engaged proprietors may elect to be covered. If included, the owner goes into his designated class at $39,800 for policies effective 9/1/2015 to 8/31/16, and $40,800 for policies effective 9/1/16 and later.
Partnership:
Statute: In South Carolina, partners are not covered under the Workers’ Compensation law.
Option: Actively engaged partners may elect to be covered. If included, each partner goes into his designated class at $39,800 for policies effective 9/1/2015 to 8/31/16, and $40,800 for policies effective 9/1/16 and later.

I hope this will be helpful as you are writing Workers’ Compensation insurance.
Happy selling work comp!!